Final Independent Project

Here are some students work that inspired me:

I was inspired by the pastel colors in Walter Brown’s Cup Installation.

The shape and style of my cake stand are based on Jodie Masterman’s piece. 
Here is some artist work that inspired me:

The bright colors in contrast with the white on Rachel Foxwell’s vessels stood out to me.

The black, hand drawn art on Mark Dally’s mugs is similar to the design I want to sgraffito onto my cake stand.
    

My plan is to create a cake stand using sea mix. The top will be 8 inches wide and made with two slabs and slipping and scoring. The base will be 4 inches wide and made by throwing. I will sgraffito the top of the stand, similar to the design shown above, and fill in the lines with varying pastel colors.

Leave a Reply

